top of page
  • Writer's picturekensch88

Eric Nelson Wins the 2014 Gival Press Poetry Award

Eric Nelson, formerly of Statesboro, Georgia but who recently moved to Asheville, North Carolina, has won the 16th Annual Gival Press Poetry Award-2014. His manuscript titled Some Wonder was read anonymously and chosen by Seth Brady Tucker the previous winner of the award. Eric Nelson will receive the cash award of $1000.00 and copies of his book after its publication this fall.

Biography: Eric Nelson’s five previous poetry collections include The Twins, winner of the Split Oak Press Chapbook Award; Terrestrials, winner of the X.J. Kennedy Poetry Award; and The Interpretation of Waking Life, winner of the Arkansas Poetry Award. His poems have appeared in Poetry, The Cincinnati Review, Southern Poetry Review, The Oxford American, The Sun, and many other venues. He and his wife, the writer Stephanie Tames, live in Asheville, North Carolina.

The finalists for the award include the following: An American Grammar by Nancy Keating of Babylon, New York. The Breakup Variations by Kathleen Spivack of Watertown, Massachusetts. Original Face by Jim Peterson of Lynchburg, Virginia. My Place in Hell by Richard Cecil of Bloomington, Indiana.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page